Iran is a country rich in history, culture, and natural beauty, but for many travelers, the process of obtaining a visa for Iran can be a deterrent. Fortunately, Iran offers a visa waiver program that allows citizens of several countries to enter the country without a visa for a certain period of time. In this blog post, we’ll take a closer look at Iran’s visa waiver program, including the eligibility requirements, entry points, and duration of stay.


Eligibility for Iran’s Visa Waiver Program

Which countries can travel to Iran without a visa? Currently, citizens of 16 countries are eligible to enter Iran without a visa under the visa waiver program. These countries include Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bolivia, China, Egypt, Georgia, Hong Kong, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Macao, Malaysia, Oman, Syria, Turkey, Uzbekistan, and Venezuela. However, it is important to note that the eligibility criteria can change, so it’s always a good idea to check with your local Iranian embassy or consulate before making travel plans.

Iran Free Trade Zones

Iran free trade zones include Kish Island, Qeshm, Anzali, Arvand, Aras, Maku, and Chabahar. Travelers who enter these free trade zones are granted a 14-day visa-free stay, which can be extended up to six months in some cases. (How to extend Iran visa?) To enter the free trade zones, travelers must arrive through designated entry points, such as airports or seaports.

Entry Points for Visa-Free Travel to Iran

To take advantage of the visa waiver program, travelers must enter Iran through one of the designated entry points. These include most of the major airports in Iran, as well as some border crossings. Here are some of the most common entry points for travelers visiting Iran under the visa waiver program:

  • Imam Khomeini International Airport (IKA) in Tehran
  • Isfahan International Airport (IFN)
  • Shiraz International Airport (SYZ)
  • Mashhad International Airport (MHD)
  • Tabriz International Airport (TBZ)


Duration of Stay under Iran’s Visa Waiver Program

The duration of stay under the visa waiver program varies depending on the traveler’s nationality. The countries which can travel to Iran without a visa are listed below with the maximum days of staying in Iran without a visa.


 Armenia (90 days)
 Azerbaijan (30 days)
 Bolivia (30 days)
 China (21 days)
 Egypt (20 days)
Georgia (45 days)
Hong Kong (21 days)
 Iraq (30 days)
 Kazakhstan (14 days)
 Lebanon (30 days)
 Macao (21 days)
 Malaysia (15 days)
 Oman (30 days)
 Syria (90 days)
 Turkey (90 days)
 Venezuela (15 days)


Advantages of Iran’s Visa Waiver Program

The visa waiver program of Iran offers several advantages for travelers visiting Iran. First and foremost, it eliminates the need to go through the sometimes-lengthy visa application process, which can be confusing and time-consuming. This makes travel to Iran more accessible for people who may not have the time or resources to apply for a visa in advance.

In addition, the visa waiver program allows travelers to enter and exit Iran more easily, without having to worry about the logistics of obtaining a visa. This can be especially beneficial for travelers who are on a tight schedule or who want to explore multiple countries in the region.


Tips for Traveling to Iran without a Visa

If you’re planning to visit Iran without a visa under the visa waiver program, here are some tips to help ensure a smooth and enjoyable trip:

  • Check the eligibility criteria carefully to make sure you meet all the requirements.
  • Research your travel itinerary in advance and make sure you have a clear plan for where you want to go and what you want to do in Iran.
  • Be respectful of local customs and dress codes, especially if you’re a woman. Iran is a conservative country, and visitors are expected to dress modestly and behave respectfully.
  • Be prepared to exchange cash for local currency, as many places in Iran do not accept credit cards or foreign currency.
  • Consider hiring a local guide or joining a tour group to help you navigate the country and get the most out of your trip.


What to Do If You’re Country Is Not on the Visa Waiver Program List?

If a traveler’s country is not on the list of eligible countries for Iran’s visa waiver program, then they will need to apply for a visa in advance through their local Iranian embassy or consulate or an Iranian Travel Agency. The visa application process typically involves submitting a completed visa application form, along with supporting documents such as a passport, photos, and proof of travel arrangements. The requirements and processing time for Iranian visas can vary depending on the traveler’s nationality and the purpose of their visit. In some cases, travelers may also be able to obtain a visa on arrival at Iranian airports. However, this option is only available to citizens of a limited number of countries and is subject to certain conditions and restrictions. It’s important to check with the local Iranian embassy or consulate to determine whether this option is available and what the requirements are.

If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact our Iran visa specialists. They will be more than happy to help you.

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/6″][/vc_column][/vc_row]